the trappings of a life!

…Was listening to Led Zeppelins’ Rock and Roll  on the way home and you know thats the kind of music that makes you think about pills and alcohol.  My knee has been hurting and last night I found myself with a handful of oxycontins.   I can see how people can become addicted to prescription drugs, even under a supervised program such as how the Navy prescribes drugs.  As I think about the drugs I have been prescribed I went through a bottle of oxycodone in a 1 week period,  when it should have lasted about 10 to 14 days.  My family is no different from any other family in america, we have had our share of problems with addiction, so I do tend to believe that addiction could be heriditary.  I think that I have went through more drugs then I have needed cause it feels a whole lot better to be painfree then painful.  My situation is different cause it was a civilian medical facility prescribing drugs and their is no connection between the civilians and the military world when  it came to drug prescriptions.  At least I know when the stitches come out, the swelling goes down and the pain starts to subside.  So at least I will not wind up on Intervention on A&E.  Well my knee hurts so I am going to take some meds…a quick thought

Categories: life | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “the trappings of a life!

  1. I found your site on google blog search and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. Just added your RSS feed to my feed reader. Look forward to reading more from you.

    Karen Halls

  2. Mom

    Hi Stephen
    You are right the military gives everyone APC and that takes care of all the pain it is nothing more then asprin. You are right addiction is heriditary, all you have to do is look at the past two generations in our family. I know you as soon as the stitches come out you will be taken off and the m ilitary steps in so we won’t see you on intervention. We have about 5in of snow, but we are able to get out. Just remember SMILE it helps

  3. Friend of Lisa's

    Hey Stephen & Lisa,

    Just checking in to say hi, glad your still blogging…

    Pain is not a pleasant thing…hope that you will feel better as each day passes… Stay strong.

    Friend of Lisa’s

  4. Friend of Lisa's

    Oh yes, and I forgot to say…GO RED SOX…

    Let the fun begin 🙂

  5. JustMe

    I know this post sounds like my husband is taking too many pain killers. He is not; don’t worry. I’m keeping an eye on his recovery every step of the way.

  6. slickman

    test

  7. slickmanm

    Hey steve just got in from the trip home. opened the mail nice shirt but just one. I was glad to have seen you and lisa. the kids were happy as well. you look good and sounded in good spirts. the new blog looks good I hope all the plays can find it and get on like capt tee. well its late so I will say good night to all and all good night.

  8. matt

    hey highway is back

  9. highway

    ok steve gates open mattinee cleaned up lets get back to buissness

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

