Blog = Writer ???

comment1

Well another dreary day around the ranch,  even the dog didnt want to go out and walk around.  The weekend is not suppose to be all that much better.   For me writing and maintaining a blog is about therapy and staying out of the shrink’s office.  I can put my thoughts down or rant and GET IT OUT without paying a huge bill, well I wouldnt be paying being that I am Navy it would be free.   Why is it that a large majority of the blogs I read, people want to be writers.  When did having a blog correlate to being then next Stephen King.  Well I will tell you it doesn’t.  Now there are some blogs that are good and I enjoy reading, and the people writing them are funny and abstract.  And yeah some folks have genuine writing talent, but to me its kind of like hearing the cab driver that is writing the next great american novel but he or she drives a cab in the downtime….I just dont get it…but thats me…Just a quick I am not a writer thought….

Categories: art, Equal opportunity, Events, FAMILY, FUNNY, History, Humor, life, Navy, Personal, relationships | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Blog = Writer ???

  1. whatigotsofar

    Some people wanna write. Being a writer can be a career. Some people wanna act, some people wanna paint, some people wanna write. Before the career goes anywhere, you gotta practice, right? What better place than the internet?

  2. The reason so many wannabe writers blog is because it’s an outlet for them to let others see their work. For me it didn’t work out that way. But I started blogging for the same reason you did, therapy. Eventually, I jotted down some memories from when I was a kid, tried to put a lighthearted spin on them and see if I could raise a smile, and finally realized I didn’t have to leave my writing languishing on the hard drive for only my wife to read.

    I don’t know anyone who wants to write because they started blogging. It’s generally the other way ’round.

    Hope you’re feeling stronger every day! God bless, and I’ll be praying for you.

    Zman – Feeling better everyday thanks…

  3. In a perfect world, everyone’s dreams and aspirations will be realized. But we live in an imperfect world. For some, a blog is a useful tool with which one hopes to capture (or recapture) a bit of the lost dreams.

    Personally, I love to write but don’t have the necessary skills and natural ability to write well (at least up to Stephen King’s level). With a blog, my writing has an audience–no matter how small it is.

    To be honest, I started my blog hoping to draw attention to my work on economic topics. All the posts on non-economic topics are meant to improve the blog’s pagerank. Don’t be surprised to see a lot of posts on economics in the future. And yes, I am not a writer either. 🙂

    Zman – Leafless the spartacus of the blog world..and one of my favorites !!!

  4. pop

    The Zman will tell you I prefer to write. I’m no good at blogging, and don’t want to be.Whether I write about things I know, or those things that Have to get help with, it is what I call the Audacity to create.Am I being disrespectful? I read his book, and I was not impressed.And works of trash like ” It takes a village”It took a Ghost writer.Do I call a blogger a writer? Why not Are they not writing their own stuff? The Zeus Gazette, Pen of Passion, Leafless At least you are your own pen, and thought.That is all that matters.Where are the great writers like Steinbeck,Hemmingway,Poe, and Shelley Gone, all gone.Not even Murdoch will be known or even remembered We live in a society whose integrity,principles,and moral values are suspect
    Yes bloggers are writers I will defend you, and any one else who feels strongly enough to put their own thoughts down on paper, and own up to it

    Zman – here here what he said!!!

  5. highway

    i hear you some of these other blogs really bite i would rather get juiced up on prozac then read there crap reminds me of charlie brown what wa wa wa wa wa wa as i say boring youre putting me to sleep i like zeus gazette …….the rest are crap………….. buddy of mine is cool funny stuff anyways z im gone be kool

    Zman – Ah yes highway my colorful friend..a true artist with the word…..

  6. Interesting how many writers there are blogging and how many people who blog aspire to be writers. I would say there are even more who like your self use this space for therapy.

    Zman – I can agree with you on that!!

  7. Writing is a creative outlet, whether its in a novel or a blog or in poems. People who write blogs are toying with the idea of writing a novel, but unless they have actually tried to write one they have no idea just how arduous it can be.

    I wrote books and stories long before the internet was a part of my life, but you wouldn’t know it by the drivel I post online. I do not, however, consider myself a writer. Funny how that works.

    Zman – I would not say its drivel…just working through ones life…

  8. Haha, I notice that too! I have an aspirations to be a writer or a journalist but not really 100%. Blogging is more like where I write my thoughts. Just a record for things, maybe just a hobby.

    But blogging is also about practicing one’s writing skills. Not all but there are some.

  9. I smiled reading your post. What is a “writer”? I would think, much as you might not like to admit it, that you are a writer, zman – in the broad sense of the word. Isn’t anyone who takes the time to put pen to paper or finger to keyboard and putting it out where others might see?

    I’m glad you’re feeling better every day. And if writing a blog saves on therapy $, that can’t be a bad thing, can it? 😉

  10. penolope

    You are my favorite author, whether you think of yourself as a writer or not. et et et.

    Zman – your so sweet your the best…thats why I love my penelope

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

