17 Yrs!!!

BB63 - New Jersey in 83'

BB63 - New Jersey in 83'

In exactly 2 yrs and 364 days I can pull the pin on this job.   Yesterday I went over 17 yrs in the Navy.  Its seems like just yesterday I was walking through the doors of the recruiting office, thinking I knew everydam thing.  I actually enlisted in 91 but was in Delayed Entry for a yr before I shipped the Boot Camp in Great Lakes IL.   There was a time when I thought yeah I will be a 30 yr man.  I had it all planned what was going to be what and where.  Dont know though, as some point I ran out of gas and never really had a chance to stop and refuel along the way.  For me, it was probably the duty stations I chose and when I chose them.  Had I planned a little better, I would be a little further along in my career and maybe still have some fuel left in the tank.  I wrote some time ago that the problem with an empty tank is that you lose passion and fire for the job that you do.   Penelope is always telling me, wait until you are a civilian and things are a shock to me.  At least I will have a choice of what I want to do when I grow up..thats always what I say….just a quick countdown thought

Categories: Events, FAMILY, FUNNY, History, Humor, life, military, Navy, Personal, Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 22 Comments

Post navigation

22 thoughts on “17 Yrs!!!

  1. Just Me

    17–whooo hoooo!!!! Just think though, if you didn’t pick some of the duty stations in the order you did you may never have met and fell in love with me. 😦 Or was that what you were complaining about…..Ha aha haa….It better not have been. Luv u…

    • Your so silly……No No you are one of the good things that has happened to me…..just a shame other things did not work out as well as we did…

  2. Seventeen years! Congratulations, you’re gettin’ to be a short timer. Hang in there!

  3. Knyt

    Thanks, not quite a short timer but getting close

  4. Twenty years in any job is a long time – especially nowadays. You’ll definitely find life a lot different once you’re out, but, as you told Penelope, you’ll get to choose what you’ll want to be when you grow up which made me laugh!

  5. Talon..yeah i good part of me is ready to move on…do something different something a little more NORMAL…..its funny cause some of the most interesting people still dont know what they want to do…

  6. pop

    This past Saturday I had a Color Guard obligation at Eisenhower Park salute to the Veterans
    On hand was a contigent from the Merchant marine Academy at Kings Point. I got a chance to talk to these youngsters and you might find this hard to believe,but the majority of them are going Active Duty Navy and Marines. A few were staying in the Merchant Marine, and one or two will enter the Coast Guard With two wars going on they’re still raring to go Hows That for unbelieveable

  7. sunflower

    I just want to say that if you had choosen a different duty station, that wonderful person Penelope would not be in your life. She was the best thing to happen to you. I don’t know what is normal, but yes you will be able to make your own choices and that is important. Keep up the good work
    Zman

    • Sunflower…..yeah that is so true…and yes penelope is the one that keeps the smile of life bright for me…thanks for the support

  8. In the 17 years you have served, I am sure you have enjoyed a fair share of wonderful moments. Reflect upon these moments and you will come to appreciate the remaining three years a little more.

  9. WOW congrats to you! 🙂

  10. Congrats on hitting the 17 year mark. Start preparing for the transition now. After 20 years in the military, there is adjustments that you will need to make. I ended up staying in for 22 years, my transition went smooth, however I did a lot of prep work. Remember to enjoy each day, there is no magic that awaits you in you exit the Navy that you don’t have access to today.

    • TobeME

      ….Penelope and I having the beginning of a transition plan, just trying to find something that wil suit me…..mentally and physically………who knows maybe open an ice cream parlor….

  11. Congrats Zman! I will be counting down with you…

    And it’s never too late to find out what you want to do when you grow up!!!

    • Bschool

      …….Thanks for being there with me……..just hope I can find what i want to do fore it gets too late ….will keep looking though

  12. Wow! I was impressed with myself for sticking with a job for 2 years and you’ve put in 17. I get bored with the work and the people and need to do other things about every 2-3 years. Congrats to you!!

    • Yellow Cat

      There have definetely been times when I wanted to pull the plug and go do something different…but I always thought there was something I would miss about this job ……thanks though..thanks for stoppin bye

  13. My brother was in the Navy. I’m trying to think, what year he enlisted. I want to say ’87? or ’88? I know he went to Great Lakes and then was in Pensacola…..then to WV. I think he was out by the time I graduated high school in ’92.

    • Auntie Juicebox

      Hey cant wrong having a Navyman in the family…….hope his enlisted was an enjoyable one..or as enjoyable it can be.. r/zman

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

