Neighbors or Shotguns!!!

Aahhh Peace!!

Aahhh Peace!!

Every now and then Penelope and I have the conversation about where we want to eventually move to and settle down.  Most of the time I start the conversation and to be fair, I tend to be wishy washy about where I would like to live.  Somedays I want to live here somedays I want to live their or the other place.  There is however one common theme with my choice of home, in that I would like a little more land and have some seclusion from neighbors.  Now I am not talking about a small cabin in the rocky mountains, but certainly an acre or two with my nearest neighbor a football field or so  away would be great.  Penelopes’ argument is one that the seclusion is too quiet and what about if someone wants to do harm to us living in the sticks breeds that she says.  I myself dont discount that argument, but flood lights, dogs and shotguns are usually a great deterrent to most folks lurking around.  Penelope grew up in the city  and likes the close knit community i.e. Neighbor right there.  I can see that and it does make sense,  but I just think the older you get the more peace and quiet you have and need.  For me, real peace and serenity is living a quiet life with my penelope away from the hussle and bussle of the city, sitting on the porch and talking about what if we were filthy rich what would we do…..Thankfully we dont have to make a moving decsion now and can put it off for the time being….just a quick life thought…

Categories: FAMILY, FUNNY, Health, Humor, life, Personal, relationships, Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 20 Comments

Post navigation

20 thoughts on “Neighbors or Shotguns!!!

  1. The older I get, the more that cabin in the Rockies sounds good. I’m definitely a rural compound kind of guy. I think my wife likes the idea of a neighborhood she can be part of, but not an urban woman at all.

    • Knyt

      Yeah there is just something about getting older and wanting a little more peace and quiet…neighbors offer some security but with also you get some of your privacy taken…thanks zman

  2. highway

    well z-man take it from this redneck when you live out in the country or as you say the sticks its great usually noone bugs you but if they do i always say a good 12ga is a great deterrent but if some knot head is a little slow well a 30-06 does the trick one good shot in the air most times stops the city folk in there tracks i know for myself i cant wait to go back to the southwest home is not far off like i always say me my horses and my good buddy smith and wesson great combo well gotta go love you bro

  3. highway

    ps dont be afraid to blow some city slickers behind off gets the point across

  4. I just got back from Laramie, a city in southern Wyoming that I used to love. It has gotten so big and out of control I couldn’t wait to get back home. But maybe it’s always been big and out of control and living on Old MacDonald’s farm out here in the middle of nowhere has spoiled me. I like the seclusion. There are only 8 houses in my subdivision and 2 of them are unoccupied. I think my retirement is right where I’m at.

    • YellowCat

      Sounds like I am destined to be your neighbor…..for me its the seclusion that brings the peace……hope your trip was enjoyable…zman

  5. I can totally relate. I like space and I like my privacy and my peace and quiet. Not so far off the beaten track that it makes it impossible to be sociable, but far enough off that day-to-day neighborly activities don’t intefere with the peace and quiet.

  6. ZMAN—–NICE SITE..NICE POST…
    I LIVE IN SMALL TOWN AMERICA………5000 TO 6000 PEOPLE BUT 30 MILES FROM BIG CITY!
    WE LEAVE THE DOOR UNLOCKED MOST OF THE TIME, IT IS VERY PEACEFUL AND RELAXING. I WANTED TO LIVE IN THE MIDDLE OF NO WHERE AND THE WIFE AND I DID THAT FOR A NUMBER YEARS. THE SAND, THE DIRT ROADS, AND THE HARSH WEATHER MADE US LOOK FOR SOMETHING IN THE MIDDLE. MAYBE THAT COULD BE A ROAD FOR YOU TO TRAVEL…….? THANKS FOR STOPPING BY MY BLOG THE OTHER DAY AND I LOOK FORWARD TO A GOOD FRIENDSHIP IN THE FUTURE!

    • Purple Hat

      Yeah hopefully Penelope and i can meet in the middle thanks for stoppin by.. r/zman

  7. Zman,

    Just so you know, your quick thoughts are my favorite thoughts.

    It’s so nice to know there are couples out there who think about moving to a place where they can just spend their days enjoying eachothers company…

    Another great post, Zman!

    Bschooled:)

  8. B school

    Thanks………thanks for stoppin bye

  9. xxhawkeyexx

    Nice post, and good luck finding a place in which both of you agree with. I recommend to look for a quiet, yet safe place, so your wife would feel comfortable.
    Thanks for reading my posts and commenting. I appreciate it.
    I like your blog and well, you seem to be a really nice man with lots of experiences and things to tell.
    Take care,
    http://xxhawkeyexx.wordpress.com/

    • Hawk

      Yeah thanks, yeah we will figure out the where and when eventually..its just a little give and take sometimes….I like your blog..i loves the art behind the words..its very soothing to read ..you have lots of talent for the words…..me i just tell about my life ..thanks for stoppin bye

  10. i think you’re right. i grew up in the country, then i craved city life. but i can definitely see myself settling down in the middle of nowhere with a big wrap around porch someday. yummy.

    • Blunt

      Yeah now that sounds like the life….something about country life is so appealing……zman sends

  11. Yea, I dont’ like people….usually so the farther away from people the better! 🙂

    • GBU2

      I some how figured that…but everyone likes you so…cmon move closer hahahaah….thanks for stopin bye

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

