Lack of Leadership!!

Yes, I know he would have been pissed off!!!

 

…Well..today while the Giants were begging the Titans to beat them I was perusing some old military news stories in the Pilot Online.  I dont think I realized how much of lack of leadership there is right now in my Navy.  No less then 14 senior military folks have been relieved of their command billets in the last year or so.  It existed when I was first coming up but not to this extent.  Today their are charges like fraternization, assault, Drinking and Driving and other forms of professional misconduct.  For me the real nonsense about all this, is that for the most part these folks (who should be showing leadership) just get reassigned and move on.  Whereas someone like myself would be reduced in rank and more then likely be shown the door.  It  really appears that the folks that should be issuing the punishments for the things  are just simply asleep at the wheel…its a good thing for me I retire in a short time and will not have to deal with folks that obviously dont know this job has a shelf life.  I do often wonder what would Admiral Nimitz or Master Chief Black think of all this crap going on today….just a quick can I retire now thought….

Categories: Equal opportunity, Events, Health, History, Humor, military, Navy, Personal, Politics, relationships | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Lack of Leadership!!

  1. Interesting post, Steve. It’s amazing how much the world has changed even in the last 20 years or so as far as having culpability and moral standards for those in positions of leadership – and this can be seen in every aspect of community – in churches, in schools, in the military, in corporations… Maybe it’s because the repercussions aren’t as severe or maybe it’s that the boundaries are stretched so far there simply isn’t any fear of reprisal.

    • Talon

      Yeah i would agree with that..Officers know for the most part that nothing will happen and they will be allowed to retire and move on. Its a lack of leadership from the top down. To me CNO is to blame, but thats me and i guess others dont see it that way..thanks for stopping bye..

  2. matt

    Great thought for today well unfortunately these so called leaders really are nimrods they know it we also know it however the top brass and head honchos in washington dont care what could i tell you except maybe it is time to replace these mental defectives and morally depraved individuals the way i see it to hell with them i go on with my life day at a time and live as honestly as possible because what it simply boils down to is the dummies are running the asylum so as i will say count the days till your retirement but plan for a great life with penelope and the z-man tell you one thing this kinda intrigues me lately i have well thought out things to say maybe this is a good thing to come anyway im going back to my desk

    • Matt

      Easy there cowboy, not talking depraved or mentally handicap people. Just talking about sr folk who break the rules….Navy then..Navy now…Navy always…thanks for stopping bye

  3. Pop

    What can I tell ya? I saw it in the Army. Someone once asked me to do a story about criminal activity in the Armed Forces, and while I’ll admit that it exists, it isn’t really that wide spread. Most of our Brave Military do the job to the best of their ability

    • Pop

      I agree..99.9 % abide by the rules and live up to Navy core values…the rest just seem to do whatever they want……Navy is lacking leadership where its needed right now…..thanks for stopping bye

  4. I think a great many people that have real leadership qualities just aren’t allowed to be leaders in today’s society. It’s like they have their wings clipped as soon as they seem to get any power.

    • LL Cool

      Yeah i hear ya..i dont disagree with that….well said…thanks for stopping bye

  5. zman… who are you trying to be these days? me? you post less than i do !!!!

    • Blunt

      Have either been busy or not feeling well…but i am still here….thanks for stopping bye…

  6. Z…just checking in. How’s it going over there?

  7. I found your site from Blunt Delivery. I love it. I’m going to poke around a little bit, but don’t worry I’ll put everything back where I found it!!

    • Kate

      Lots of room on the ranch….plenty of space for more visitors and friends…..cmon in …rome around….thanks for the stopping bye…Zman

  8. Z Man,
    I hear you. I think that Chief Black and the good admiral would be shocked that at what we consider issues today. Back in their time fraternization, drinking and driving and the such were the norms of the day.
    I don’t know if leadership is any worse today – just more visible.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

