Happy Mothers Day 2011

My Wife Penelope's Ma

 
 
 
Well,  With Mothers Day tomorow it gets me to thinking about how great my mother actually is.  I will be the first to tell you that, I have not always been the best son.  I see things my way and think I am right all the time.  Let me tell you about the Zman’s mother.  She is heaven sent, yes sir right from the big man himself.  I know right out the gate she doted on me, and I was the apple of her eye.  I cant remember a time when I was younger when MOM didnt bend over backwards to make sure I was happy and content.  I remember the time she took me to see the Lone Ranger, she hated it but it was to make me happy.  Of course when grade school came around, we would go to Friendly’s in the morning before school.  To the best of my knowledge I was the only child (I have 3 older brothers) she did this with.  Did I mention there were days when Mom said I didnt have to go to school and YEAH DAD never knew.  My Grandmother (her mother) made the best tuna fish for me and used to say “I made this special for you, so dont tell your brothers”  and then winked at me and sent me on my way.  Mom always made sure I had some money in my pocket when i was younger even If it emptied hers.  Mom would go to the wrestling matches at the Garden and fake like she liked it, but it was for her families enjoyment.  There was the time when she bought some tickets, to go see some plays and musicals on Sunday to get some culture in me.  My mom let me have my first beer (ooops not suppose to say that..Orlando, Fla Disneyworld trip) once again no brothers just Mom, Dad and me.  Do you see a pattern here.  Mom had very humble upbringing, and after much hardwork became a great no I mean an OUTSTANDING school teacher.  Mom overcame a fear when she had to be by my side when I got sick.  Mom is about I think is THE BEST person I know.  I am truly blessed by our heavenly father to have her as my mother.  I can only hope I have lived up to her expectations and make her as proud of me as I am as proud to call her MOM. Just a quick I love my MOM thought…

Mom and me a few years back

Categories: ACADEMICS, age, art, clothes, EDUCATION, Events, FAMILY, FUNNY, Health, History, life, Long Island, Mothers Day, Personal, Photography, relationships, Religion, spring, Summertime, Teaching, Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 23 Comments

Post navigation

23 thoughts on “Happy Mothers Day 2011

  1. Great post! I miss my little Mom terribly. It’s become apparent to me that I always will.

  2. A Very Happy Mothers Day to your MOM, my dear. You obviously were the favorite and sometimes the baby of the family–I was, too–are favored. I think it’s because by that time they’ve had three others and know what they are doing now—And, your like a bonus that they can fully enjoy….Whatever the reason, I’m happy for you Zman….!

    • Lady of the hills

      A very happy mothers day to you….Anyone would be very proud to call you MOM…..but yes i agree being the last born i think that was main reason for child spoiling…mom and i are close (not in geographic location) but sometimes i think distance is okay…she is the best mom a child/boy/man could ask for….thanks for stopping bye

  3. I can only hope my 16 year old son writes something so sweet about me some day….

    • Lisa

      A very very happy mothers day to you. I am sure he will, its that special bond that a child/boy/man has for his mom….thanks for stopping bye…

  4. You’re a good lad, Zman. Nicely done.

    • Mr Mills…..Well thanks..that’s very kind of you….good to hear from you…thanks for stopping bye always a pleasure….zman

  5. Online Blogger

    Great post thanks for sharing. You have a great layout here. I find blogging very useful. You can help other people in the network to get started with their own little blog setups.
    It’s simple and easy but you must learn the right blogging strategies to be effective.

    Learn to Blog Effectively Now!

    • Online Blogger

      Well thanks for the nice comment..for me it started out as a healing idea but now I just write whats in my head and whats going on around here..thanks for stopping bye

  6. More than gifts, thoughts and words like these shared with our mum, Zman, are the best present we can give her on this special day

  7. highway

    hey bro great pic i remember this one mom looked so beautiful in this pic you were probably 2 maybe 3 at the time yeah mom was really cool with us when we were kids .you brought back great memories wrestling , circus, much more but still cool love ya bro talk to you soon

    • Highway

      Yeah I love that pic huh. I actually have some sort of vague memory of it…it was like a meeting like legionhall meeting or something like that….weird how i remember that…thanks for stopping bye

  8. Just Me

    I miss my Mom terribly but I’m so glad you have such a great one. Love you..

  9. Sparkling Red

    That’s a lovely tribute! I’m glad to know that you have such a great mom.

    • Sparkling…….well thank you….I have a pretty great mom……..thanks for stopping bye

  10. Awww! Those photos are awesome, Steve! I hope your Mom read your beautiful tribute. She would be so honored and tickled. She sounds like an amazing Mom. You are so right – an amazing mother is a true blessing. I can’t imagine my life without my Mom – she turns 85 this July.

    • Talon…..yes she did read it….and I got her flowers…..my mom is angel on my shoulder…..thanks for stopping bye

  11. Awesome post Z. Your mother sounds wonderful and it is heartwarming to read other peoples’ stories of their living relationship with their mothers.

    • Rico

      Yeah thanks….mom and I get along great guess I am one of the lucky ones these days…hope things are great with you….thanks for stopping bye

  12. What a sweet post about your mom. It made me wonder if my kids think I was that good of a mom.

    • Cat

      You are a great mom…i just know it. Anyone with your patience has to be a great mom…zman sends

  13. awwwww…. sounds like you have such a great mom.

    it’s truly a blessing… i don’t take it for granted either!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

