My Uncle Sam!!

One of the buildings my Uncle owns.

Well my Uncle Sam and I decided about 2 years ago that we were going to part ways here next month.  Our deal was a simple one, I told him I no longer saw things his way and I would like to resign.  He happily said “Fine young man I understand, how about you finish out your contract until the summer of 2012 and you can go”.  I said “Cool yeah I can do that.”  Somethings have happened in the last 2 yrs to really prohibit me from going beyond this summer but that is water under the bridge.  For sure, I can say my Uncle has gotten off track with his company.   I think he hires too young and puts alot on their shoulders at any one time.  Dont take me wrong, he looks after them well like he did with me.  But with the way young kids are today,  you hire young and shit is bound to happen.  So  none the less next month he going to let me say my peace and let me go about my own way.  We also agreed that he was going to compensate for any medical problems I incurred along the way, and pay me for the rest of my life because I was loyal to him and his company for such a long time.  My Uncle hired me young, taught me a trade and let me travel with him all over the world.  Yeah I  dont agree with alot of his current workcenter policies, but its his company and he runs it the way he sees fit. But hey, I know he will find someone to replace me and hopefully he treats them as well as he did me.

Categories: american dream, FAMILY, FUNNY, History, life, military, Navy, Personal, relationships, spring, Summertime, Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “My Uncle Sam!!

  1. What a lovely post and a fresh take on being in the military. Good luck on the impending retirement!

    • Cat

      Yeah thanks. Most people that read it get the jist of what I am saying. I appreciate the good thoughts. Thanks for stopping bye dont be a stranger.

  2. matt

    i agree with you 100 percent the only thing old uncle sam needs to do is stop this foolish garbage overseas and let the youngsters come home well your going to be a civilian soon plus good luck with retirement

    • Matt

      Yeah. Well Uncle Sam is a good dude and he always treated my fairly and paid me a decent wage. What he does after I leave, well thats not my business anymore….thanks for stopping bye

  3. anne halvorson

    Well said!

    • Anne

      Hey stranger. Welcome to my own little world here. Thanks thats very kind of you. Dont be a stranger…….thanks for stopping bye

  4. So what will you do when you leave? Glad things are going well for you now. 🙂

    • LL Cool

      I am working some things out..go back to school full time and take time off are in the picture right now. Hope things are good with you…thanks for stopping bye

  5. I can’t believe it’s official next month! Are you all set for a whole new way of life? It must be both exciting and terrifying all at the same time.

    Glad you are well, zman! It’s good to be back in the blogging world again.

    • Talon

      Yeah me too…it kind of snuck up on me…things are not totally all set…but each day Penelope and I are working our plan so its a work in progress. I am very excited about starting a new life and embarking on new set of adventures……yeah took time off….but hey I am back…thanks for stopping bye

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

